If you need to replace your Wisconsin drivers license, the request must be submitted to a customer service center of the Division of Motor Vehicles. Make sure that the DMV office you bring your application to is not a renewal-only office.
Applications for duplicate driver’s licenses can be filed by mail, online, or in person with your local DMV office.
Applying for a Duplicate License Online
To apply for a license online, you must meet certain requirements. You cannot apply online in the following circumstances:
- Your driver’s license is expired or is set to expire within 30 days
- You need to change a vision restriction
- Your legal name or address has changed
- You have already applied for four duplicates through the DMV website within the last year
If you are eligible to apply online, you’ll submit your application through the state DMV website. You’ll be required to provide the following information:
- Your current driver’s license number
- Your Social Security number
- Your date of birth
- Your zip code
- $14 in payment for the duplicate license fee, paid with an American Express, Discover, VISA, or MasterCard
Applying for a Duplicate License by Mail
To apply by mail, you’ll need to place the following documentation in a secure envelope:
- Your complete Driver License Application
- A money order or check for the $14 duplicate license fee
Double check the address that you send the envelope to. Regular mail and expedited mail are sent to two different locations.
Applying for a Duplicate License in Person
To apply for your duplicate in person, you’ll need to go to your local DMV office. Make sure you don’t go to the express center in Burlington or Madison, as these centers are not able to issue duplicate driver’s licenses. You’ll need to bring the following documentation:
- Your complete Wisconsin Driver License Application
- Proof of identity such as your passport or military I.D.
- Payment for the duplicate license fee of $14
The receipt for your transaction can be used as a temporary license until the duplicate license arrives in the mail.
Applying for a Duplicate License when Out of State
If you’re traveling outside of Wisconsin, and your license is stolen or lost, you can still replace it. You’ll just need to submit the application through the mail rather than online or at your local DMV office.
Reporting a Stolen or Lost License
You aren’t legally required to report a stolen or lost license to the police, but losing your license does put you at risk for identity theft. It’s highly recommended that you contact local law enforcement and file a police report.
You can also make a request with the DMV for a notation to be placed on your driving record, which states that you’ve requested additional identification. If this notation is used, anyone stopped using your driver’s license will be required to show a secondary proof of identification.
Note that you will also have to provide a secondary proof of identification in this case.
Fees for a Duplicate License
Regardless of how you apply, the fee for a duplicate driver’s license is always $14. You can pay in the following ways:
- Money order
- VISA card
- American Express card
- Discover card
If you apply in person, double check that they accept credit cards.